Subscribe By RSS or Email

November 14, 2017

Oh, Hello! Nick Kroll And John Mulaney Returning To Host 2018 Independent Spirit Awards

Looking for some good news? Well, Film Independent wants to make your day. The producers of the Independent Spirit Awards announced today that Nick Kroll and John Mulaney will return to host the 2018 edition of the now venerable independent film industry institution.

In a statement, Film Independent president John Welsh noted, “The only thing better than having Nick Kroll and John Mulaney host the Spirit Awards is having them host the Spirit Awards twice. They did such an amazing job last year and we’re thrilled to have them back in 2018.”

Jennifer Caserta, President of IFC which is the longtime broadcaster of the Spirit Awards, added, “From the minute Nick and John opened last year’s show, which went instantly viral, we knew we wanted them back to host this year. These two talented multi-hyphenates knocked it out of the park last year and we can’t wait to see what they have planned for this year.”

Kroll and Mulaney become the first repeat hosts since Sarah Silverman hosted in both 2006 and 2007.

As a duo, Kroll and Mulaney are best known for their show “Oh, Hello!” which had a very successful run on Broadway last year. Kroll co-created and is one of the voices on the Netflix series “Big Mouth” which was just renewed for a second season. He also starred on the Comedy Central series “Kroll Show” and FX’s “The League.” His movie credits include Jeff Nichol’s “Loving” and Seth Rogen’s “Sausage Party.” Mulaney is an Emmy and WGA award winning writer for “Saturday Night Live” and has had a number of standup specials on Netflix and Comedy Central. Mulaney currently writes on IFC’s “Documentary Now” and Kroll’s “Big Mouth.”

You can enjoy Kroll and Mulaney’s hilarious opening monologue from last year’s show embedded at the top of this post.

The 2018 Independent Spirit Awards will be broadcast live on March 3 on IFC beginning at 2 PM PST, 5 PM PST. The nominees for the 2018 Spirit Awards will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 21.

Read more from The Playlist